Digital Writing

For one of my two grad seminars at University of Delaware this spring, Writing in a Digital Age, I had to make a short 60 second video. The assignment required us to create some of our own footage (that couldn’t be one long take; it had to be pieced together somehow) on any concept that interests us.

I had learned some basic video editing techniques back in 1996 at my high school. Needless to say, the equipment and process have come a long way since then, and I had to pick up the skills quickly to make my video.¬†Ultimately it took me just over 6 hours (I don’t include videotaping while running because I would have run anyway!) to make the video.

Two of my running friends generously let me use their GoPro cameras, which can be strapped on to a headset or a chest strap. Over two different runs I collected footage, and as I thought about what I wanted to portray, what I wanted my audience to feel and think at the end of my film, I realized that I wanted them to go with me from darkness into sunlight. It was important that they understand the ways in which running satisfies so many different needs: for physical health and wellness, for friendship and companionship, for mental clarity, for enjoying nature and beauty.

The finished project, titled “Rising Run,” is posted on Youtube. Leave a note to let me know what you think in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

