Teaching Dracula

At dinner tonight we got into discussing books. Evelyn talked about how she was happy not to have gotten into the Goosebumps series. I shared the plot of the book I’m reading for my Transatlantic Gothic class, Lady Audley’s Secret (1862). 

I mentioned that Dracula‘s up next, and that I’ll be writing a pedagogy paper about it.

“I have to write about how I’d teach Dracula.”

Charlotte: “You could wear a necklace with a HUGE CROSS ON IT.”

Evelyn: “Yeah, and you could serve holy wafers and holy water for snack. And what about lining the walls with onion peels…”

After I stopped laughing, I explained that I had to teach Dracula the text, not Dracula the person. 

Leave a Reply

